91°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast

Latest Weather Blog

Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Property slipping away because of erosion along creek

BATON ROUGE - There's a sinkhole behind a man's house, that backs up to Ward Creek in Baton Rouge. He says a concrete portion of the creek has busted into smaller pieces, eroding the ground underneath and washing away part of his property.

Al Alexander says he contacted the City-Parish about this in March 2017 and someone with the Department of Public Works visited his home to inspect the issue. That was the last he heard from them. Now more than a year later, Alexander says his problem is troubling.

"About four or five years ago we noticed the fence started to collapse," said Alexander. "It's gotten worse since then."

When Ward Creek fills, the water forms a whirlpool under Alexander's fence. He says it's eaten away anywhere from 10-20 feet more dirt than what he can see from the surface. His fence is hanging above a 10 to 15-foot drop of open air, which leads into the creek.

As more dirt washes away with each rain he fears the worst, that he'll lose more of his property, and someone could get hurt.    

"It's like having a swimming pool I didn't build and now I'm liable for it," he said.

Other parts of his property are starting to show signs of erosion, but there's not much he can do to stop what's happening if there's now water barrier.

"It's a parish issue, it's their property," said Alexander. "I would hope they address it."

The City-Parish says it's looking into this and the report made last year.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - There's a sinkhole behind a man's house, that backs up to Ward Creek in Baton Rouge. He... More >>
18 hours ago Friday, August 17 2018 Aug 17, 2018 Friday, August 17, 2018 6:48:00 PM CDT August 17, 2018 in News
LIVINGSTON - A family that lost everything in the flood, including all proof of ownership to their home, is finally... More >>
1 day ago Thursday, August 16 2018 Aug 16, 2018 Thursday, August 16, 2018 6:15:00 PM CDT August 16, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Restore Louisiana says it was all a miscommunication, after one if its applicants contacted 2 On Your... More >>
2 days ago Wednesday, August 15 2018 Aug 15, 2018 Wednesday, August 15, 2018 6:27:00 PM CDT August 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some residents living at a senior living apartment building off Hooper Road say they've been having trouble... More >>
3 days ago Tuesday, August 14 2018 Aug 14, 2018 Tuesday, August 14, 2018 10:00:00 PM CDT August 14, 2018 in News
WALKER - Tucked away in a neighborhood off Hwy 447 in Livingston Parish is a pond system where raw sewage... More >>
4 days ago Monday, August 13 2018 Aug 13, 2018 Monday, August 13, 2018 6:29:00 PM CDT August 13, 2018 in News
SCOTLANDVILLE - A man is wondering what he has to do to get his ditch cleaned out and cleared of... More >>
1 week ago Monday, August 06 2018 Aug 6, 2018 Monday, August 06, 2018 6:59:00 PM CDT August 06, 2018 in News
PLAQUEMINE - A cemetery has been without AT&T service for a month and says it's been detrimental to business. ... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, August 01 2018 Aug 1, 2018 Wednesday, August 01, 2018 5:53:00 PM CDT August 01, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A mobile home that's been abandoned and slowly falling apart is an eyesore and health hazard to... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, July 31 2018 Jul 31, 2018 Tuesday, July 31, 2018 5:40:00 PM CDT July 31, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A softball player, whose car was stolen with her athletic gear inside received a little help Monday... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, July 30 2018 Jul 30, 2018 Monday, July 30, 2018 6:42:00 PM CDT July 30, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Baton Rouge visitor left the boot state with huge sticker shock when she was charged nearly... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, July 30 2018 Jul 30, 2018 Monday, July 30, 2018 5:19:00 PM CDT July 30, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A piece of furniture has caused one Baton Rouge woman some major headaches. It broke a few... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, July 27 2018 Jul 27, 2018 Friday, July 27, 2018 5:55:00 PM CDT July 27, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A dead tree that sits on the City-Parish right-of-way dropped a rotting limb on a man's fence.... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, July 26 2018 Jul 26, 2018 Thursday, July 26, 2018 5:37:00 PM CDT July 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Woodlawn High School graduate who is looking forward to a softball career, had her prized possessions... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, July 25 2018 Jul 25, 2018 Wednesday, July 25, 2018 5:34:00 PM CDT July 25, 2018 in News
GONZALES - A case involving a contractor accused of fraud in multiple parishes could soon be coming to a close... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, July 24 2018 Jul 24, 2018 Tuesday, July 24, 2018 6:24:00 PM CDT July 24, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A U.S. Postal Worker is accused of kicking addressed mail into a storm drain. The alleged... More >>
4 weeks ago Friday, July 20 2018 Jul 20, 2018 Friday, July 20, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT July 20, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a blight concern on Sherwood Street in Baton Rouge. One of the property owners with a... More >>
4 weeks ago Thursday, July 19 2018 Jul 19, 2018 Thursday, July 19, 2018 6:46:00 PM CDT July 19, 2018 in News
GREENWELL SPRINGS - Multiple bridge closures in the northern part of East Baton Rouge Parish have some residents concerned for... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, July 18 2018 Jul 18, 2018 Wednesday, July 18, 2018 5:33:00 PM CDT July 18, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A woman is stuck with thousands of dollars in credit card debt after she tells 2 On... More >>
1 month ago Monday, July 16 2018 Jul 16, 2018 Monday, July 16, 2018 6:31:00 PM CDT July 16, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A neighborhood off Shenandoah says it's having issues with rodents. Rats are running through backyards and multiplying... More >>
1 month ago Sunday, July 15 2018 Jul 15, 2018 Sunday, July 15, 2018 8:50:00 PM CDT July 15, 2018 in News
GONZALES - A neighborhood with dozens of homes tucked away off LA 44 in Gonzales is raising traffic concerns recently.... More >>
1 month ago Monday, July 09 2018 Jul 9, 2018 Monday, July 09, 2018 10:19:00 PM CDT July 09, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Residents in Ascension Parish frustrated with trash pick-up have a new option: valet garbage service. Eddie Denham... More >>
1 month ago Friday, July 06 2018 Jul 6, 2018 Friday, July 06, 2018 6:50:00 PM CDT July 06, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A lot of people get an inspection sticker every year for their vehicle because it's the law.... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, July 03 2018 Jul 3, 2018 Tuesday, July 03, 2018 5:35:00 PM CDT July 03, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - A few WBRZ viewers have emailed and called about problems they're having with Waste Pro. Some residents report... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 29 2018 Jun 29, 2018 Friday, June 29, 2018 7:31:00 PM CDT June 29, 2018 in News
ST. FRANCISVILLE - A woman says her beloved family member was taken advantage of by her caretaker and she's waiting... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 28 2018 Jun 28, 2018 Thursday, June 28, 2018 7:37:00 PM CDT June 28, 2018 in News
GEISMAR - More complaints about Republic Services and one woman tells 2 On Your Side that she's not paying them... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 26 2018 Jun 26, 2018 Tuesday, June 26, 2018 10:48:00 PM CDT June 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A program offered to Entergy users is saving some customers a large chunk of change. The program,... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 22 2018 Jun 22, 2018 Friday, June 22, 2018 7:10:00 PM CDT June 22, 2018 in News
UPDATE: Numerous offers of new bikes and monetary donations poured in after On Your Side highlighted Eric Schmidley's story Wednesday... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 21 2018 Jun 21, 2018 Thursday, June 21, 2018 8:00:00 PM CDT June 21, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood victim, who is waiting to rebuild her Park Forest home, recently discovered a mess dumped... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 21 2018 Jun 21, 2018 Thursday, June 21, 2018 6:34:00 PM CDT June 21, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - It's been awhile since the state starting mailing out letters to collect fines for lapsed car insurance... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 19 2018 Jun 19, 2018 Tuesday, June 19, 2018 6:20:00 PM CDT June 19, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Whatever you do, don't call them rats. Nutria has recently been seen around the City Park Lakes,... More >>
1 month ago Monday, June 18 2018 Jun 18, 2018 Monday, June 18, 2018 5:28:00 PM CDT June 18, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Fast action for 2 On Your Side Friday. A mess left behind by a fallen tree limb... More >>
2 months ago Friday, June 15 2018 Jun 15, 2018 Friday, June 15, 2018 5:39:00 PM CDT June 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's been big-time frustration for a man who says his hot rod has been locked up for... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, June 13 2018 Jun 13, 2018 Wednesday, June 13, 2018 5:51:00 PM CDT June 13, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - The thought of flooding again is still fresh in the minds of those who went through it a... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, June 12 2018 Jun 12, 2018 Tuesday, June 12, 2018 6:46:00 PM CDT June 12, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Earlier this week the State Fire Marshal cleared a Baton Rouge property owner after a 2 On... More >>
2 months ago Friday, June 08 2018 Jun 8, 2018 Friday, June 08, 2018 9:28:00 AM CDT June 08, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There are a lot of distractions in our daily lives and no parent thinks it will happen... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, June 07 2018 Jun 7, 2018 Thursday, June 07, 2018 6:20:00 PM CDT June 07, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Drivers and shopping customers along Jefferson Highway have recently noticed a piece of history uncovered by a... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, June 06 2018 Jun 6, 2018 Wednesday, June 06, 2018 6:04:00 PM CDT June 06, 2018 in News
DONALDSONVILLE - A drainage pipe busted underground and it's been causing problems for a homeowner for nearly a decade. ... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, June 05 2018 Jun 5, 2018 Tuesday, June 05, 2018 6:31:00 PM CDT June 05, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The first day of hurricane season is also a good time to get organized. That includes knowing... More >>
2 months ago Friday, June 01 2018 Jun 1, 2018 Friday, June 01, 2018 2:38:00 PM CDT June 01, 2018 in News
UPDATE: Highland Road will be closed between Bluebonnet Boulevard and Siegen Lane Saturday morning while crews work to remove the... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, May 31 2018 May 31, 2018 Thursday, May 31, 2018 2:40:00 PM CDT May 31, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The state visited an apartment building under the microscope by the Department of Health and Hospitals. ... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 29 2018 May 29, 2018 Tuesday, May 29, 2018 6:38:00 PM CDT May 29, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Department of Health and Hospitals is investigating an independent living facility after a 2 On Your... More >>
2 months ago Friday, May 25 2018 May 25, 2018 Friday, May 25, 2018 5:14:00 PM CDT May 25, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A new subdivision wants to route its sewer through a neighborhood that's been around for years. The... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, May 24 2018 May 24, 2018 Thursday, May 24, 2018 6:45:00 PM CDT May 24, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Over the last month, 2 On Your Side has been taking a lot of calls about missed... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 22 2018 May 22, 2018 Tuesday, May 22, 2018 5:48:00 PM CDT May 22, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - What one homeowner says was supposed to be a backyard paradise, has turned into a big nightmare. ... More >>
2 months ago Monday, May 21 2018 May 21, 2018 Monday, May 21, 2018 6:33:00 PM CDT May 21, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A man says his power company called him up recently, telling him it planned to cut a bunch... More >>
3 months ago Friday, May 18 2018 May 18, 2018 Friday, May 18, 2018 6:43:00 PM CDT May 18, 2018 in News
KENTWOOD - A hunter looking forward to a busy hunting season, missed out entirely after the land he leased was... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 17 2018 May 17, 2018 Thursday, May 17, 2018 7:30:00 PM CDT May 17, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A homeowner who was at his wit's end is getting results following a 2 On Your Side... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, May 16 2018 May 16, 2018 Wednesday, May 16, 2018 6:26:00 PM CDT May 16, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Attorney General has sued a body shop with a 30-year history, alleging that the company's business... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 15 2018 May 15, 2018 Tuesday, May 15, 2018 5:47:00 PM CDT May 15, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A homeowner says he's been left with quite a mess and blames contractors hired through the Restore... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 10 2018 May 10, 2018 Thursday, May 10, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT May 10, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - An abandoned trailer park has turned into a dumping ground for household items, car parts, among other... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 08 2018 May 8, 2018 Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT May 08, 2018 in News

News tip form