74°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast

Latest Weather Blog

Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side is here for you during this time of rebirth and rebuilding.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for tips and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Utility cable stretching over street removed following call to 2OYS

BATON ROUGE - Fast action for 2 On Your Side Friday. A mess left behind by a fallen tree limb has been cleaned up after Arthur Scott said he was having trouble getting any response. A cable that's been sitting in the road for nearly two weeks has been removed from the roadway.

When Scott contacted WBRZ Friday morning, he said he wasn't getting any answers.

"I've called AT&T several times and they haven't given me any response," he said.

Early last week, Scott says a storm rolled through Gore Road off of Highway 19. A large limb fell from the tree in front of his house and landed on the utility lines. The lines were pulled into the street, tearing the connection from his house and the utility pole. Scott says he had to replace the weathervane on his roof and his Entergy electric box. It cost him $1,200.

The power has been restored, but the large limb has been sitting in Scott's drainage ditch and he was waiting for the rest of the job to be completed.

"AT&T has not picked up their cables off the ground," he said.

Up until Friday afternoon, the AT&T cables were stretched across the street. Scott says Gore Road is a cut-through and hundreds of cars have run over that cable since it's been down. He assumes the cable has been live the whole time because he's had all of his utilities.

Around 3 o'clock Friday afternoon, Scott called 2 On Your Side saying AT&T was in front of his house moving the cable from the road. The company says a crew was on-site working to repair the downed line on Gore Road. If residents have questions about any AT&T equipment, they can contact the 24-hour equipment service line at 1-800-288-2020.

The City-Parish also tells WBRZ the Department of Public Works will check on the limb that's down in the drainage ditch Monday. It has to check to see if the tree stands in the right-of-way.

 

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - Fast action for 2 On Your Side Friday. A mess left behind by a fallen tree limb... More >>
2 days ago Friday, June 15 2018 Jun 15, 2018 Friday, June 15, 2018 5:39:00 PM CDT June 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's been big-time frustration for a man who says his hot rod has been locked up for... More >>
4 days ago Wednesday, June 13 2018 Jun 13, 2018 Wednesday, June 13, 2018 5:51:00 PM CDT June 13, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - The thought of flooding again is still fresh in the minds of those who went through it a... More >>
5 days ago Tuesday, June 12 2018 Jun 12, 2018 Tuesday, June 12, 2018 6:46:00 PM CDT June 12, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Earlier this week the State Fire Marshal cleared a Baton Rouge property owner after a 2 On... More >>
1 week ago Friday, June 08 2018 Jun 8, 2018 Friday, June 08, 2018 9:28:00 AM CDT June 08, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There are a lot of distractions in our daily lives and no parent thinks it will happen... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, June 07 2018 Jun 7, 2018 Thursday, June 07, 2018 6:20:00 PM CDT June 07, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Drivers and shopping customers along Jefferson Highway have recently noticed a piece of history uncovered by a... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, June 06 2018 Jun 6, 2018 Wednesday, June 06, 2018 6:04:00 PM CDT June 06, 2018 in News
DONALDSONVILLE - A drainage pipe busted underground and it's been causing problems for a homeowner for nearly a decade. ... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, June 05 2018 Jun 5, 2018 Tuesday, June 05, 2018 6:31:00 PM CDT June 05, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The first day of hurricane season is also a good time to get organized. That includes knowing... More >>
2 weeks ago Friday, June 01 2018 Jun 1, 2018 Friday, June 01, 2018 2:38:00 PM CDT June 01, 2018 in News
UPDATE: Highland Road will be closed between Bluebonnet Boulevard and Siegen Lane Saturday morning while crews work to remove the... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, May 31 2018 May 31, 2018 Thursday, May 31, 2018 2:40:00 PM CDT May 31, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The state visited an apartment building under the microscope by the Department of Health and Hospitals. ... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, May 29 2018 May 29, 2018 Tuesday, May 29, 2018 6:38:00 PM CDT May 29, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Department of Health and Hospitals is investigating an independent living facility after a 2 On Your... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, May 25 2018 May 25, 2018 Friday, May 25, 2018 5:14:00 PM CDT May 25, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A new subdivision wants to route its sewer through a neighborhood that's been around for years. The... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, May 24 2018 May 24, 2018 Thursday, May 24, 2018 6:45:00 PM CDT May 24, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Over the last month, 2 On Your Side has been taking a lot of calls about missed... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, May 22 2018 May 22, 2018 Tuesday, May 22, 2018 5:48:00 PM CDT May 22, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - What one homeowner says was supposed to be a backyard paradise, has turned into a big nightmare. ... More >>
3 weeks ago Monday, May 21 2018 May 21, 2018 Monday, May 21, 2018 6:33:00 PM CDT May 21, 2018 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A man says his power company called him up recently, telling him it planned to cut a bunch... More >>
1 month ago Friday, May 18 2018 May 18, 2018 Friday, May 18, 2018 6:43:00 PM CDT May 18, 2018 in News
KENTWOOD - A hunter looking forward to a busy hunting season, missed out entirely after the land he leased was... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, May 17 2018 May 17, 2018 Thursday, May 17, 2018 7:30:00 PM CDT May 17, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A homeowner who was at his wit's end is getting results following a 2 On Your Side... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, May 16 2018 May 16, 2018 Wednesday, May 16, 2018 6:26:00 PM CDT May 16, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Attorney General has sued a body shop with a 30-year history, alleging that the company's business... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, May 15 2018 May 15, 2018 Tuesday, May 15, 2018 5:47:00 PM CDT May 15, 2018 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A homeowner says he's been left with quite a mess and blames contractors hired through the Restore... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, May 10 2018 May 10, 2018 Thursday, May 10, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT May 10, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - An abandoned trailer park has turned into a dumping ground for household items, car parts, among other... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, May 08 2018 May 8, 2018 Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:00:00 PM CDT May 08, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who's lived on the same property all her life is now being told she might... More >>
1 month ago Monday, May 07 2018 May 7, 2018 Monday, May 07, 2018 6:16:00 PM CDT May 07, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Louisiana State Police say there are a number of scam callers targeting Louisiana residents. The callers are... More >>
1 month ago Friday, May 04 2018 May 4, 2018 Friday, May 04, 2018 6:25:00 PM CDT May 04, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Volunteers from Michigan are helping one woman rebuild from the August 2016 flood. The team with Samaritan's... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, May 02 2018 May 2, 2018 Wednesday, May 02, 2018 6:22:00 PM CDT May 02, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - After fifteen years in the Baton Rouge community, Re-Bath of South Louisiana announced Tuesday that it will... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, May 01 2018 May 1, 2018 Tuesday, May 01, 2018 7:08:00 PM CDT May 01, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Thanks to 2 On Your Side, volunteers are resting after a hard day at work rebuilding a... More >>
1 month ago Saturday, April 28 2018 Apr 28, 2018 Saturday, April 28, 2018 9:51:00 PM CDT April 28, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A landlord says her tenant decided to stop paying bills and abandoned the property late last year.... More >>
1 month ago Friday, April 27 2018 Apr 27, 2018 Friday, April 27, 2018 6:07:00 PM CDT April 27, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A homeowner says he's been dealing with a broken sidewalk in front of his house for two... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, April 26 2018 Apr 26, 2018 Thursday, April 26, 2018 6:29:00 PM CDT April 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman has been on a year-long mission to catch the person who broke into her storage... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, April 25 2018 Apr 25, 2018 Wednesday, April 25, 2018 6:09:00 PM CDT April 25, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A flood-damaged house that was left to rot has been demolished, thanks to the help of 2... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, April 24 2018 Apr 24, 2018 Tuesday, April 24, 2018 6:13:00 PM CDT April 24, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A non-profit group that helps low-income homeowners stay independent was hit by thieves. Rebuilding Together Baton... More >>
1 month ago Monday, April 23 2018 Apr 23, 2018 Monday, April 23, 2018 6:25:00 PM CDT April 23, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Calls to 2 On Your Side report that spring debris collection in East Baton Rouge Parish is... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, April 18 2018 Apr 18, 2018 Wednesday, April 18, 2018 6:37:00 PM CDT April 18, 2018 in News
DARROW - It's tax day, and some people have been reporting scam calls. The callers claim to be from the... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, April 17 2018 Apr 17, 2018 Tuesday, April 17, 2018 6:15:00 PM CDT April 17, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a drainage ditch on California Street that has one property owner worried. He says the ditch... More >>
2 months ago Sunday, April 15 2018 Apr 15, 2018 Sunday, April 15, 2018 10:30:00 PM CDT April 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A landlord says their tenant abandoned all of their belongings. She called 2 On Your Side, concerned... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, April 12 2018 Apr 12, 2018 Thursday, April 12, 2018 6:34:00 PM CDT April 12, 2018 in News
BAYOU SORREL - A woman is warning others about a Facebook scam that promises big money in exchange for a... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, April 10 2018 Apr 10, 2018 Tuesday, April 10, 2018 6:43:00 PM CDT April 10, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some folks living at Magnolia Trace off N. Harrells Ferry Road came home to notices on their... More >>
2 months ago Monday, April 09 2018 Apr 9, 2018 Monday, April 09, 2018 5:46:00 PM CDT April 09, 2018 in News
UPDATE: The post master spoke with Kortering this week and says she's committed to getting the package sent off. ... More >>
2 months ago Monday, April 09 2018 Apr 9, 2018 Monday, April 09, 2018 3:50:00 PM CDT April 09, 2018 in News
INDEPENDENCE - A couple of gravel pits in Tangipahoa Parish are causing concern for some of their rural neighbors. ... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, April 05 2018 Apr 5, 2018 Thursday, April 05, 2018 6:41:00 PM CDT April 05, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - A temporary pumping station is creating some nasty results for a few homeowners in Central. On multiple... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, April 04 2018 Apr 4, 2018 Wednesday, April 04, 2018 5:11:00 PM CDT April 04, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Last June, a man boarded a Greyhound bus and says that's the last time he saw some... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, April 03 2018 Apr 3, 2018 Tuesday, April 03, 2018 5:12:00 PM CDT April 03, 2018 in News
Update: An Ascension Parish resident contacted 2 On Your Side last month after her calls for help went unanswered. Kim... More >>
2 months ago Saturday, March 31 2018 Mar 31, 2018 Saturday, March 31, 2018 8:40:00 PM CDT March 31, 2018 in News
CENTRAL - Sometimes it's hard to accept the reality that all of the recovery funds available may not bring someone... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, March 29 2018 Mar 29, 2018 Thursday, March 29, 2018 7:03:00 PM CDT March 29, 2018 in News
UPDATE: Entergy tells 2 On Your Side’s Brittany Weiss that there has been a resolution for Sybil Jordan. It thanks... More >>
2 months ago Monday, March 26 2018 Mar 26, 2018 Monday, March 26, 2018 5:34:00 PM CDT March 26, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Fines have been piling up fast for one woman who says a $12,000 bank mistake is responsible... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, March 22 2018 Mar 22, 2018 Thursday, March 22, 2018 6:48:00 PM CDT March 22, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A tenant at a Baton Rouge shopping center is tired of looking at a large pile of... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, March 21 2018 Mar 21, 2018 Wednesday, March 21, 2018 5:40:00 PM CDT March 21, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A plan to upgrade and manage the City-Parish downtown parking system remains under review. The parish... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, March 20 2018 Mar 20, 2018 Tuesday, March 20, 2018 9:00:00 PM CDT March 20, 2018 in News
SAINT FRANCISVILLE - A man blames development for destroying his piece of paradise in West Feliciana Parish. Slowly, over the... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, March 15 2018 Mar 15, 2018 Thursday, March 15, 2018 6:44:00 PM CDT March 15, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - Somewhere between Washington state and Memphis, a package containing vintage jewelry and other items went missing. The... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, March 13 2018 Mar 13, 2018 Tuesday, March 13, 2018 6:13:00 PM CDT March 13, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A disturbing find at a cemetery in Baton Rouge. A man with a loved one buried at... More >>
3 months ago Monday, March 12 2018 Mar 12, 2018 Monday, March 12, 2018 6:11:00 PM CDT March 12, 2018 in News
BATON ROUGE - A valve releasing a stinky odor is gone, following a 2 On Your Side report last June.... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, March 08 2018 Mar 8, 2018 Thursday, March 08, 2018 6:34:00 PM CST March 08, 2018 in News

News tip form