77°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Baton Rouge postal carrier indicted after more than 100 pieces of mail dumped in garbage

BATON ROUGE - A U.S. Postal Service employee has been indicted after she allegedly dumped mail she was supposed to deliver.

Court documents say at the beginning of March 2019 Judith Hughes dumped 111 pieces of mail in a trash container near the Sherwood Forest Townhomes on South Flannery Road. Two bundles were dumped. 

WBRZ and 2 On Your Side first reported the incident in March after a property manager found a bag full of mail in the area. Some of the items were fliers for an area gym, the rest was mail that hadn't been delivered.

Other items included mail from AT&T, T-Mobile, Cox, and Capital One.

At the time, Hughes was a city carrier assistant at the Old Hammond Station Post Office in Baton Rouge.

Her responsibilities included collecting, sorting, and delivering mail to postal customers on her routes. Hughes is charged with obstruction of mail.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - A U.S. Postal Service employee has been indicted after she allegedly dumped mail she was supposed to... More >>
21 hours ago Monday, August 19 2019 Aug 19, 2019 Monday, August 19, 2019 9:57:00 AM CDT August 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Landlords and apartment building owners will now be responsible for the disposal of bulky items put at... More >>
2 days ago Saturday, August 17 2019 Aug 17, 2019 Saturday, August 17, 2019 9:06:00 AM CDT August 17, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A dumping site in Ascension Parish thought to have been cleaned up years ago is still contaminated. ... More >>
6 days ago Tuesday, August 13 2019 Aug 13, 2019 Tuesday, August 13, 2019 6:43:00 PM CDT August 13, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman driving down the road had the scare of her life Wednesday when a light pole... More >>
1 week ago Friday, August 09 2019 Aug 9, 2019 Friday, August 09, 2019 8:09:00 PM CDT August 09, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Monday morning East Baton Rouge Mayor-President Sharon Weston Broome, Governor John Bel Edwards, and Congressman Garret Graves... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, August 05 2019 Aug 5, 2019 Monday, August 05, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT August 05, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A years-long problem for one woman is getting a lot of buzz after a call to 2... More >>
2 weeks ago Saturday, August 03 2019 Aug 3, 2019 Saturday, August 03, 2019 10:33:00 PM CDT August 03, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Livingston Parish residents are concerned about drainage issues after Tuesday's rainstorm dumped a bunch of water on... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, July 31 2019 Jul 31, 2019 Wednesday, July 31, 2019 5:33:00 PM CDT July 31, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - One woman says she was on top of the world and the bottom in a matter of... More >>
3 weeks ago Monday, July 29 2019 Jul 29, 2019 Monday, July 29, 2019 5:49:00 PM CDT July 29, 2019 in News
GLYNN - A tenant says her landlord is threatening to kick her out for not paying rent, but she says... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, July 26 2019 Jul 26, 2019 Friday, July 26, 2019 5:28:00 PM CDT July 26, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A land fight has been brewing for years and one property owner called 2 On Your Side... More >>
4 weeks ago Monday, July 22 2019 Jul 22, 2019 Monday, July 22, 2019 6:37:00 PM CDT July 22, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Tucked away near a dead-end street, is a mess left behind by a mystery crew more than... More >>
1 month ago Friday, July 19 2019 Jul 19, 2019 Friday, July 19, 2019 6:15:00 PM CDT July 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A business owner is out $7,000 after thieves lifted material meant to be used for construction. ... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, July 18 2019 Jul 18, 2019 Thursday, July 18, 2019 9:45:00 PM CDT July 18, 2019 in News
UPDATE: East Baton Rouge City-Parish tells 2 On Your Side the debris has been picked up as of 10 o'clock... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, July 11 2019 Jul 11, 2019 Thursday, July 11, 2019 5:21:00 PM CDT July 11, 2019 in News
LIVINGSTON - Many people in Livingston Parish are getting a jump-start on storm preparations ahead of this weekend's severe weather.... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, July 10 2019 Jul 10, 2019 Wednesday, July 10, 2019 6:02:00 PM CDT July 10, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - It's been about three weeks since the City-Parish and Republic Services laid out a plan for improving... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, July 09 2019 Jul 9, 2019 Tuesday, July 09, 2019 7:03:00 PM CDT July 09, 2019 in News
UPDATE: As of Monday, July 1, AT&T reports that all services in this area are back up and working. ... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 28 2019 Jun 28, 2019 Friday, June 28, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT June 28, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - An upgrade is in the works to deal with the infamous flooding at the Acadian Thruway underpass... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 27 2019 Jun 27, 2019 Thursday, June 27, 2019 6:39:00 PM CDT June 27, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Last week, 2 On Your Side reported about Southern Heritage Homes in Denham Springs and an upset customer.... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, June 25 2019 Jun 25, 2019 Tuesday, June 25, 2019 6:20:00 PM CDT June 25, 2019 in News
ZACHARY - If a deal sounds too good to be true, it probably is. It's a hard lesson that plenty... More >>
1 month ago Monday, June 24 2019 Jun 24, 2019 Monday, June 24, 2019 6:25:00 PM CDT June 24, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A neighborhood along Acadian Thruway, near I-10 and Dawson Creek, is tired of flooding. The most recent... More >>
1 month ago Friday, June 21 2019 Jun 21, 2019 Friday, June 21, 2019 6:02:00 PM CDT June 21, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A mobile home dealer in Livingston Parish is in hot water again. Last year, 2 On... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 20 2019 Jun 20, 2019 Thursday, June 20, 2019 6:57:00 PM CDT June 20, 2019 in News
UPDATE: Republic Services announced Tuesday it will hold a press conference Wednesday to detail plans to improve service. The... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, June 18 2019 Jun 18, 2019 Tuesday, June 18, 2019 6:40:00 PM CDT June 18, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Neighborhood growth in one area of Livingston Parish is creating drainage issues. At one time, a 12-inch... More >>
2 months ago Monday, June 17 2019 Jun 17, 2019 Monday, June 17, 2019 6:16:00 PM CDT June 17, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE – Near-convincing phishing emails are targeting automatic deposits for employee’s salaries and if a payroll department is not... More >>
2 months ago Friday, June 14 2019 Jun 14, 2019 Friday, June 14, 2019 3:28:00 PM CDT June 14, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman is living next to a property that she says hasn't been touched since the August... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, June 13 2019 Jun 13, 2019 Thursday, June 13, 2019 6:27:00 PM CDT June 13, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - For many, Thursday's severe weather made it difficult to get around. One Baton Rouge nurse had to... More >>
2 months ago Friday, June 07 2019 Jun 7, 2019 Friday, June 07, 2019 6:41:00 PM CDT June 07, 2019 in News
MONTPELIER - A woman's mobile home has been destroyed after a large tree fell through it during a tornado. Now... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, June 05 2019 Jun 5, 2019 Wednesday, June 05, 2019 6:31:00 PM CDT June 05, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City-Parish is working toward flood relief in the Zeeland Place neighborhood of Baton Rouge after a... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, May 29 2019 May 29, 2019 Wednesday, May 29, 2019 8:08:00 PM CDT May 29, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Another bridge in the northern part of East Baton Rouge Parish is closed. The Pride-Baywood Bridge near... More >>
2 months ago Monday, May 27 2019 May 27, 2019 Monday, May 27, 2019 6:40:00 PM CDT May 27, 2019 in News
PORT ALLEN - A railroad crossing on the west side could be the source of a number of vehicle issues.... More >>
3 months ago Monday, May 20 2019 May 20, 2019 Monday, May 20, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT May 20, 2019 in News
LAFAYETTE - Some medical professionals say the doctor they work for can't afford to pay them. At least one employee... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 16 2019 May 16, 2019 Thursday, May 16, 2019 7:13:00 PM CDT May 16, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - The Department of Environmental Quality says it's monitoring chemicals, tied to a decades-old dumping, that was found in... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, May 15 2019 May 15, 2019 Wednesday, May 15, 2019 12:09:00 PM CDT May 15, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Last month, 2 On Your Side reported that three Live Oak trees were vandalized along Airline Highway... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 14 2019 May 14, 2019 Tuesday, May 14, 2019 6:43:00 PM CDT May 14, 2019 in News
UPDATE: The mayor's office announced Thursday that she has requested AT&T suspend construction of its new cell towers around the... More >>
3 months ago Sunday, May 12 2019 May 12, 2019 Sunday, May 12, 2019 11:00:00 PM CDT May 12, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Weather conditions in the last couple of days have some homeowners worried. Sharon Bell contacted 2... More >>
3 months ago Friday, May 10 2019 May 10, 2019 Friday, May 10, 2019 5:36:00 PM CDT May 10, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Donna Winstead has been living in a moldy disaster for years, holding onto hope that her landlord will... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, May 08 2019 May 8, 2019 Wednesday, May 08, 2019 8:13:00 PM CDT May 08, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - One woman says it's a terrible injustice and her bills are mounting. Two years after receiving widowers... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 07 2019 May 7, 2019 Tuesday, May 07, 2019 7:20:00 PM CDT May 07, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City of Baton Rouge broke ground on a new sidewalk project in the Zeeland and Poet's... More >>
3 months ago Friday, May 03 2019 May 3, 2019 Friday, May 03, 2019 5:21:00 PM CDT May 03, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City-Parish followed through on its word to further inspect a possible drainage blockage in the Zeeland... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 30 2019 Apr 30, 2019 Tuesday, April 30, 2019 5:30:00 PM CDT April 30, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Buyer beware. A man looking to purchase a puppy online was scammed out of hundreds of dollars.... More >>
3 months ago Monday, April 29 2019 Apr 29, 2019 Monday, April 29, 2019 5:01:00 PM CDT April 29, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Someone took down three live oak trees in what appears to be an illegal act over the... More >>
3 months ago Friday, April 26 2019 Apr 26, 2019 Friday, April 26, 2019 5:19:00 PM CDT April 26, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A bill aimed at fining telemarketers or scammers using a phone, email, or text message to target... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, April 24 2019 Apr 24, 2019 Wednesday, April 24, 2019 6:28:00 PM CDT April 24, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Someone claiming to be the owner of a piece of property installed a chain link fence to... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 23 2019 Apr 23, 2019 Tuesday, April 23, 2019 6:48:00 PM CDT April 23, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Residents living in the Zeeland Place neighborhood of Baton Rouge continue to have issues with water after... More >>
4 months ago Friday, April 19 2019 Apr 19, 2019 Friday, April 19, 2019 6:00:00 PM CDT April 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Homeowners fighting erosion problems say they're being left on their own. East Baton Rouge Parish says it... More >>
4 months ago Wednesday, April 17 2019 Apr 17, 2019 Wednesday, April 17, 2019 5:53:00 PM CDT April 17, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Darrell Rivers says putting up a two-foot wall around his property is better than worrying about whether... More >>
4 months ago Tuesday, April 16 2019 Apr 16, 2019 Tuesday, April 16, 2019 6:34:00 PM CDT April 16, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A Livingston Parish homeowner says the work completed on her backyard oasis is sloppy and she wants... More >>
4 months ago Monday, April 15 2019 Apr 15, 2019 Monday, April 15, 2019 6:57:00 PM CDT April 15, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The state says it has a bunch of money it wants to give back to Louisiana residents.... More >>
4 months ago Friday, April 12 2019 Apr 12, 2019 Friday, April 12, 2019 6:50:00 PM CDT April 12, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman who's been living in a home for four years will finally be able to use... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, April 11 2019 Apr 11, 2019 Thursday, April 11, 2019 6:25:00 PM CDT April 11, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some tenants are spending another night without electricity in their apartment off S. Flannery Road. The power... More >>
4 months ago Monday, April 08 2019 Apr 8, 2019 Monday, April 08, 2019 10:11:00 PM CDT April 08, 2019 in News

News tip form