62°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Flooding on Southdowns street addressed following 2 On Your Side report

BATON ROUGE - People living along Aberdeen Avenue in the Southdowns neighborhood of Baton Rouge are excited to see their street drain. They reached out to 2 On Your Side for help several months ago and got some relief.

The City took action. Their response made a difference and people like Emma Antilley hope it did the trick.

"It's a huge improvement in quality of life," Antilley said.

At the end of January, 2 On Your Side visited with Antilley and several of her neighbors about the repeated flooding they have on their street. After it rained, the water would collect in the road and pour over curbs into yards. The water sat there for hours and was pushed higher into front yards by vehicles driving through. High rain boots became a necessity.

The water trouble is something the neighborhood has been dealing with for years.

"They thought they talked to everybody," Antilley said.

Turns out, Aberdeen Avenue had been on the city's radar, but action had not been taken. The city had to find the money to investigate the problem. A few weeks ago Compliance EnviroSystems, a sanitary inspection company, brought their trucks and cameras along with several crew members to get to the root of the problem.

"They ended up finding a blockage on the corner," Antilley said.

The crew returned several times, unraveling tree roots and debris that blocked water flow. Crews also found a manhole covered by asphalt.

"It seems to have fixed the problem and we're so thankful," Antilley said.

Cars now have no trouble driving down the street, a simple concept that Antilley had trouble imagining.

"I didn't think it would happen this quickly and I wasn't expecting it to feel that important to people, I'm super thankful to you and everybody that helped us with this and for feeling like they cared," she said.

Antilley now has some peace of mind knowing that things will be different.

The city drove along Aberdeen Avenue Wednesday morning to check on the drainage to make sure things were working as they should be.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - People living along Aberdeen Avenue in the Southdowns neighborhood of Baton Rouge are excited to see their... More >>
4 days ago Wednesday, April 10 2024 Apr 10, 2024 Wednesday, April 10, 2024 7:14:00 PM CDT April 10, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A neighborhood is at its wits end after the city's traffic engineering department came back and told... More >>
5 days ago Tuesday, April 09 2024 Apr 9, 2024 Tuesday, April 09, 2024 7:32:00 PM CDT April 09, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - One woman came home from work last week to a green notice on her door saying she... More >>
6 days ago Monday, April 08 2024 Apr 8, 2024 Monday, April 08, 2024 8:00:00 PM CDT April 08, 2024 in News
BAKER - A woman says she is also a victim of sexual misconduct by a Baker School System employee who... More >>
1 week ago Friday, April 05 2024 Apr 5, 2024 Friday, April 05, 2024 3:53:00 PM CDT April 05, 2024 in News
UPDATE: After Donovan's story, several doctors reached out hoping to help. Monday, Sydney met with one of the doctors who... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, April 04 2024 Apr 4, 2024 Thursday, April 04, 2024 2:35:00 PM CDT April 04, 2024 in News
BAKER - A Baker school system employee is on administrative leave following an arrest. According to arrest documents, detectives... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, April 04 2024 Apr 4, 2024 Thursday, April 04, 2024 1:57:00 PM CDT April 04, 2024 in News
ZACHARY - A property owner living a few hundred feet away from the Comite Diversion Canal project says he's locked... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, April 02 2024 Apr 2, 2024 Tuesday, April 02, 2024 7:41:00 PM CDT April 02, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - After a car being chased by police crashed into her home, 2 On Your Side helped Connie... More >>
1 week ago Monday, April 01 2024 Apr 1, 2024 Monday, April 01, 2024 6:57:00 PM CDT April 01, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - If you work in or visit downtown Baton Rouge, chances are you have experienced parking. It's not... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, March 28 2024 Mar 28, 2024 Thursday, March 28, 2024 6:29:00 PM CDT March 28, 2024 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - It's a problem 2 On Your Side has been looking into for several years — one woman's fight... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, March 27 2024 Mar 27, 2024 Wednesday, March 27, 2024 3:52:00 PM CDT March 27, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE — A woman's home was hit by a teen driving a stolen car at the end of a... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, March 25 2024 Mar 25, 2024 Monday, March 25, 2024 7:01:00 PM CDT March 25, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - Patricia Sullivan says she wants someone to take responsibility for all the water that's flooding her property... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, March 22 2024 Mar 22, 2024 Friday, March 22, 2024 3:52:00 PM CDT March 22, 2024 in News
UPDATE The City-Parish made repairs to the guardrail Monday morning. Melody Russell says she is happy to have her safety... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, March 21 2024 Mar 21, 2024 Thursday, March 21, 2024 3:46:00 PM CDT March 21, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A mom is trying to settle the debt of her daughter who died last year. There's one... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, March 19 2024 Mar 19, 2024 Tuesday, March 19, 2024 7:08:00 PM CDT March 19, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - The East Baton Rouge Metro Council will take on an amendment to the unified development code that... More >>
3 weeks ago Monday, March 18 2024 Mar 18, 2024 Monday, March 18, 2024 6:32:00 PM CDT March 18, 2024 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A fleet of Entergy trucks were busy at work Wednesday morning making improvements to a neighborhood that often... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, March 13 2024 Mar 13, 2024 Wednesday, March 13, 2024 2:02:00 PM CDT March 13, 2024 in News
GONZALES - The Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality has taken drone footage of the red dust site in Ascension Parish.... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 12 2024 Mar 12, 2024 Tuesday, March 12, 2024 10:41:00 PM CDT March 12, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A WWII Veteran is resting peacefully under a new roof after she contacted 2 On Your Side... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 12 2024 Mar 12, 2024 Tuesday, March 12, 2024 10:29:00 PM CDT March 12, 2024 in News
GONZALES - Ascension Parish leaders say they are another step closer to enclosing an old bauxite site for good. The... More >>
1 month ago Friday, March 08 2024 Mar 8, 2024 Friday, March 08, 2024 3:52:00 PM CST March 08, 2024 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS — There is a home in Denham Springs that's being elevated, a requirement made by FEMA following the... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, March 06 2024 Mar 6, 2024 Wednesday, March 06, 2024 4:39:00 PM CST March 06, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman's house has holes in it and after getting no where with the company that installed... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, March 05 2024 Mar 5, 2024 Tuesday, March 05, 2024 6:11:00 PM CST March 05, 2024 in News
DONALDSONVILLE - Work on a pump station in Ascension Parish has shifted gears from pile driving , but people living... More >>
1 month ago Monday, March 04 2024 Mar 4, 2024 Monday, March 04, 2024 7:19:00 PM CST March 04, 2024 in News
GONZALES - It was windy on Tuesday. That, coupled with the drought conditions, caused red dust to fly in parts... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, February 28 2024 Feb 28, 2024 Wednesday, February 28, 2024 5:29:00 PM CST February 28, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE — As a concrete mixing truck backed up to Ginger Simon's driveway on Tuesday morning, she felt a... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, February 27 2024 Feb 27, 2024 Tuesday, February 27, 2024 3:39:00 PM CST February 27, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - One man contacted 2 On Your Side after he says the post office didn't take his concerns... More >>
1 month ago Friday, February 23 2024 Feb 23, 2024 Friday, February 23, 2024 4:34:00 PM CST February 23, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - The city says it is discussing making an improvement to how it closes out constituent requests for... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, February 21 2024 Feb 21, 2024 Wednesday, February 21, 2024 4:39:00 PM CST February 21, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - About 2,500 drivers who visited a private tag agent in the Baton Rouge area were mailed letters... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, February 21 2024 Feb 21, 2024 Wednesday, February 21, 2024 11:38:00 AM CST February 21, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - Work to clean out waterways in the Baton Rouge area continues. Crews are currently on the Amite... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, February 20 2024 Feb 20, 2024 Tuesday, February 20, 2024 8:11:00 PM CST February 20, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - Terri Taylor says she feels sick living in her house and it's because there's mold all over... More >>
1 month ago Friday, February 16 2024 Feb 16, 2024 Friday, February 16, 2024 3:51:00 PM CST February 16, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - The city continues its pledge to clear waterways in and around the Baton Rouge area. Thursday, crews... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, February 15 2024 Feb 15, 2024 Thursday, February 15, 2024 4:40:00 PM CST February 15, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A national transmission shop has terminated ties with a troubled franchise in the Baton Rouge area. ... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, February 14 2024 Feb 14, 2024 Wednesday, February 14, 2024 1:47:00 PM CST February 14, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A budding problem on Fiero Street was fixed Tuesday after a construction crew spotted a tree growing... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, February 13 2024 Feb 13, 2024 Tuesday, February 13, 2024 10:24:00 PM CST February 13, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A pair of thieves targeted a property management rent check drop box over the weekend and got... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, February 08 2024 Feb 8, 2024 Thursday, February 08, 2024 1:23:00 PM CST February 08, 2024 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Their power goes out multiple times a year, sometimes when it's a gorgeous day outside. It happens so... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, February 06 2024 Feb 6, 2024 Tuesday, February 06, 2024 10:39:00 PM CST February 06, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - One man says he's got a serious flooding issue on his hands and is trying to get... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, February 06 2024 Feb 6, 2024 Tuesday, February 06, 2024 3:42:00 PM CST February 06, 2024 in News
D.R. Horton is facing heat again with Livingston Parish residents in the Foxglove subdivision finding out they may never take... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, January 31 2024 Jan 31, 2024 Wednesday, January 31, 2024 6:39:00 PM CST January 31, 2024 in On Your Side
BATON ROUGE - A street in the Southdowns neighborhood repeatedly floods and people living there are tired of it happening... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, January 25 2024 Jan 25, 2024 Thursday, January 25, 2024 2:41:00 PM CST January 25, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - Top LSU football recruit Trey'Dez Green is waiting for a decision from the court about whether or... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, January 24 2024 Jan 24, 2024 Wednesday, January 24, 2024 3:36:00 PM CST January 24, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - Alton Joe's car has been locked up in a fenced-in yard for three years. A judge says... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, January 23 2024 Jan 23, 2024 Tuesday, January 23, 2024 6:47:00 PM CST January 23, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - Drivers seem to be in a hurry at one busy intersection in Baton Rouge. During the morning... More >>
2 months ago Monday, January 22 2024 Jan 22, 2024 Monday, January 22, 2024 6:59:00 PM CST January 22, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A church is having issues with sewage leaking onto its property from the neighboring apartment building. It's... More >>
2 months ago Friday, January 19 2024 Jan 19, 2024 Friday, January 19, 2024 3:45:00 PM CST January 19, 2024 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - It's a project that seems the be taking forever. People living in Denham Springs are curious to... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, January 18 2024 Jan 18, 2024 Thursday, January 18, 2024 5:52:00 PM CST January 18, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - More customers are coming forward about a Baton Rouge transmission shop. The owner tells 2 On Your... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, January 17 2024 Jan 17, 2024 Wednesday, January 17, 2024 6:55:00 PM CST January 17, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some customers of a transmission shop on Florida Boulevard say the place is doing poor work and... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, January 16 2024 Jan 16, 2024 Tuesday, January 16, 2024 7:06:00 PM CST January 16, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - The O'Brien House has been helping people in the Baton Rouge community since 1971. One of its... More >>
3 months ago Friday, January 12 2024 Jan 12, 2024 Friday, January 12, 2024 3:50:00 PM CST January 12, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man paid $2,000 for a puppy and after months of back and forth, he still doesn't... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, January 11 2024 Jan 11, 2024 Thursday, January 11, 2024 6:56:00 PM CST January 11, 2024 in On Your Side
BATON ROUGE - A woman's internet goes in and out because squirrels are damaging the equipment behind her house. ... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, January 10 2024 Jan 10, 2024 Wednesday, January 10, 2024 6:57:00 PM CST January 10, 2024 in On Your Side
BATON ROUGE - Following a report last week, 2 On Your Side has been able to help positively identify a... More >>
3 months ago Monday, January 08 2024 Jan 8, 2024 Monday, January 08, 2024 7:24:00 PM CST January 08, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man living out of state says a woman has taken over his property and won't leave!... More >>
3 months ago Friday, January 05 2024 Jan 5, 2024 Friday, January 05, 2024 3:53:00 PM CST January 05, 2024 in News
BATON ROUGE - She isn't sure who she is or where she came from. People have tried to help her,... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, January 04 2024 Jan 4, 2024 Thursday, January 04, 2024 6:51:00 PM CST January 04, 2024 in On Your Side

News tip form