70°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

Poles blocking sidewalk removed after call to 2 On Your Side

BATON ROUGE - A pole laying across the sidewalk had been frustrating residents for far too long. Two pieces of wood telephone pole had been sitting on the sidewalk in the 5900-block of Evangeline Street.

The heavy items couldn't be moved and continued to take up space for months. One resident said they've been there for more than a year.

Sherry White and her husband are repairing a home in the area and noticed the sidewalk obstruction.

"I saw a man in a wheelchair and he had to go on Evangeline Street to get around," she said.

White says it was about a week ago when she saw the man ride into the street and wheel himself alongside the cars and 18-wheelers, which drive at least 40 MPH.

"I've called a couple of different people and no one seems to know who's responsible for it," said White. "I don't live at this property but it's the safety of the neighborhood.

Friday afternoon, 2 On Your Side made a phone call to a utility company and the poles were picked up within two hours.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - A pole laying across the sidewalk had been frustrating residents for far too long. Two pieces of... More >>
11 months ago Friday, September 27 2019 Sep 27, 2019 Friday, September 27, 2019 5:06:00 PM CDT September 27, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Louisiana's seafood identification law requiring restaurants to label seafood has been in effect for a few weeks.... More >>
11 months ago Thursday, September 26 2019 Sep 26, 2019 Thursday, September 26, 2019 6:42:00 PM CDT September 26, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Investigators say there's evidence that one or more used car dealers are abusing dealer plates. The plates... More >>
11 months ago Wednesday, September 25 2019 Sep 25, 2019 Wednesday, September 25, 2019 6:50:00 PM CDT September 25, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City-Parish says it recently heard back from FEMA regarding a Hazard Mitigation Grant that would pay... More >>
1 year ago Friday, September 20 2019 Sep 20, 2019 Friday, September 20, 2019 5:22:00 PM CDT September 20, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - An area hit hard by a June rain event is learning about a possible source of the... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 19 2019 Sep 19, 2019 Thursday, September 19, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT September 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A group of people anxiously awaited the arrival of a Live Oak High School student at Rotolo's... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 18 2019 Sep 18, 2019 Wednesday, September 18, 2019 6:12:00 PM CDT September 18, 2019 in News
UPDATE: The Louisiana Department of Health said Monday it received the requested guidance from the Centers for Medicare and Medicare... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, September 12 2019 Sep 12, 2019 Thursday, September 12, 2019 6:26:00 PM CDT September 12, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - There's a large sinkhole out front of a home off Old Hammond Highway, near O'Neal Lane. The... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 11 2019 Sep 11, 2019 Wednesday, September 11, 2019 6:20:00 PM CDT September 11, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A water meter that's been leaking for months is finally getting some attention after a call to... More >>
1 year ago Monday, September 09 2019 Sep 9, 2019 Monday, September 09, 2019 9:00:00 PM CDT September 09, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A dead tree is a topic of debate between the city-parish and a property owner for more... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, September 04 2019 Sep 4, 2019 Wednesday, September 04, 2019 6:29:00 PM CDT September 04, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The calls and complaints about missed trash collection continue to be made to 2 On Your Side.... More >>
1 year ago Friday, August 30 2019 Aug 30, 2019 Friday, August 30, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT August 30, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Livingston Parish Public Schools says it has a massive problem: there aren't enough bus drivers. "It's... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, August 27 2019 Aug 27, 2019 Tuesday, August 27, 2019 6:44:00 PM CDT August 27, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Algae in University Lake is growing and getting worse. But a solution is in the works. BREC,... More >>
1 year ago Friday, August 23 2019 Aug 23, 2019 Friday, August 23, 2019 5:23:00 PM CDT August 23, 2019 in News
BAKER - A woman who needed her car repaired took it to a person who never did the work. Joyce... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, August 22 2019 Aug 22, 2019 Thursday, August 22, 2019 9:48:00 PM CDT August 22, 2019 in News
BAKER - After learning there is an issue with her car, Joyce Williams hired what she thought was a reliable... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, August 20 2019 Aug 20, 2019 Tuesday, August 20, 2019 6:40:00 PM CDT August 20, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A U.S. Postal Service employee has been indicted after she allegedly dumped mail she was supposed to... More >>
1 year ago Monday, August 19 2019 Aug 19, 2019 Monday, August 19, 2019 9:57:00 AM CDT August 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Landlords and apartment building owners will now be responsible for the disposal of bulky items put at... More >>
1 year ago Saturday, August 17 2019 Aug 17, 2019 Saturday, August 17, 2019 9:06:00 AM CDT August 17, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - A dumping site in Ascension Parish thought to have been cleaned up years ago is still contaminated. ... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, August 13 2019 Aug 13, 2019 Tuesday, August 13, 2019 6:43:00 PM CDT August 13, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman driving down the road had the scare of her life Wednesday when a light pole... More >>
1 year ago Friday, August 09 2019 Aug 9, 2019 Friday, August 09, 2019 8:09:00 PM CDT August 09, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Monday morning East Baton Rouge Mayor-President Sharon Weston Broome, Governor John Bel Edwards, and Congressman Garret Graves... More >>
1 year ago Monday, August 05 2019 Aug 5, 2019 Monday, August 05, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT August 05, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A years-long problem for one woman is getting a lot of buzz after a call to 2... More >>
1 year ago Saturday, August 03 2019 Aug 3, 2019 Saturday, August 03, 2019 10:33:00 PM CDT August 03, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Livingston Parish residents are concerned about drainage issues after Tuesday's rainstorm dumped a bunch of water on... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, July 31 2019 Jul 31, 2019 Wednesday, July 31, 2019 5:33:00 PM CDT July 31, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - One woman says she was on top of the world and the bottom in a matter of... More >>
1 year ago Monday, July 29 2019 Jul 29, 2019 Monday, July 29, 2019 5:49:00 PM CDT July 29, 2019 in News
GLYNN - A tenant says her landlord is threatening to kick her out for not paying rent, but she says... More >>
1 year ago Friday, July 26 2019 Jul 26, 2019 Friday, July 26, 2019 5:28:00 PM CDT July 26, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A land fight has been brewing for years and one property owner called 2 On Your Side... More >>
1 year ago Monday, July 22 2019 Jul 22, 2019 Monday, July 22, 2019 6:37:00 PM CDT July 22, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Tucked away near a dead-end street, is a mess left behind by a mystery crew more than... More >>
1 year ago Friday, July 19 2019 Jul 19, 2019 Friday, July 19, 2019 6:15:00 PM CDT July 19, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A business owner is out $7,000 after thieves lifted material meant to be used for construction. ... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, July 18 2019 Jul 18, 2019 Thursday, July 18, 2019 9:45:00 PM CDT July 18, 2019 in News
UPDATE: East Baton Rouge City-Parish tells 2 On Your Side the debris has been picked up as of 10 o'clock... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, July 11 2019 Jul 11, 2019 Thursday, July 11, 2019 5:21:00 PM CDT July 11, 2019 in News
LIVINGSTON - Many people in Livingston Parish are getting a jump-start on storm preparations ahead of this weekend's severe weather.... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, July 10 2019 Jul 10, 2019 Wednesday, July 10, 2019 6:02:00 PM CDT July 10, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - It's been about three weeks since the City-Parish and Republic Services laid out a plan for improving... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, July 09 2019 Jul 9, 2019 Tuesday, July 09, 2019 7:03:00 PM CDT July 09, 2019 in News
UPDATE: As of Monday, July 1, AT&T reports that all services in this area are back up and working. ... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 28 2019 Jun 28, 2019 Friday, June 28, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT June 28, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - An upgrade is in the works to deal with the infamous flooding at the Acadian Thruway underpass... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 27 2019 Jun 27, 2019 Thursday, June 27, 2019 6:39:00 PM CDT June 27, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - Last week, 2 On Your Side reported about Southern Heritage Homes in Denham Springs and an upset customer.... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, June 25 2019 Jun 25, 2019 Tuesday, June 25, 2019 6:20:00 PM CDT June 25, 2019 in News
ZACHARY - If a deal sounds too good to be true, it probably is. It's a hard lesson that plenty... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 24 2019 Jun 24, 2019 Monday, June 24, 2019 6:25:00 PM CDT June 24, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A neighborhood along Acadian Thruway, near I-10 and Dawson Creek, is tired of flooding. The most recent... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 21 2019 Jun 21, 2019 Friday, June 21, 2019 6:02:00 PM CDT June 21, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A mobile home dealer in Livingston Parish is in hot water again. Last year, 2 On... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 20 2019 Jun 20, 2019 Thursday, June 20, 2019 6:57:00 PM CDT June 20, 2019 in News
UPDATE: Republic Services announced Tuesday it will hold a press conference Wednesday to detail plans to improve service. The... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, June 18 2019 Jun 18, 2019 Tuesday, June 18, 2019 6:40:00 PM CDT June 18, 2019 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Neighborhood growth in one area of Livingston Parish is creating drainage issues. At one time, a 12-inch... More >>
1 year ago Monday, June 17 2019 Jun 17, 2019 Monday, June 17, 2019 6:16:00 PM CDT June 17, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE – Near-convincing phishing emails are targeting automatic deposits for employee’s salaries and if a payroll department is not... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 14 2019 Jun 14, 2019 Friday, June 14, 2019 3:28:00 PM CDT June 14, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman is living next to a property that she says hasn't been touched since the August... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, June 13 2019 Jun 13, 2019 Thursday, June 13, 2019 6:27:00 PM CDT June 13, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - For many, Thursday's severe weather made it difficult to get around. One Baton Rouge nurse had to... More >>
1 year ago Friday, June 07 2019 Jun 7, 2019 Friday, June 07, 2019 6:41:00 PM CDT June 07, 2019 in News
MONTPELIER - A woman's mobile home has been destroyed after a large tree fell through it during a tornado. Now... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, June 05 2019 Jun 5, 2019 Wednesday, June 05, 2019 6:31:00 PM CDT June 05, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - The City-Parish is working toward flood relief in the Zeeland Place neighborhood of Baton Rouge after a... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, May 29 2019 May 29, 2019 Wednesday, May 29, 2019 8:08:00 PM CDT May 29, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Another bridge in the northern part of East Baton Rouge Parish is closed. The Pride-Baywood Bridge near... More >>
1 year ago Monday, May 27 2019 May 27, 2019 Monday, May 27, 2019 6:40:00 PM CDT May 27, 2019 in News
PORT ALLEN - A railroad crossing on the west side could be the source of a number of vehicle issues.... More >>
1 year ago Monday, May 20 2019 May 20, 2019 Monday, May 20, 2019 6:45:00 PM CDT May 20, 2019 in News
LAFAYETTE - Some medical professionals say the doctor they work for can't afford to pay them. At least one employee... More >>
1 year ago Thursday, May 16 2019 May 16, 2019 Thursday, May 16, 2019 7:13:00 PM CDT May 16, 2019 in News
PRAIRIEVILLE - The Department of Environmental Quality says it's monitoring chemicals, tied to a decades-old dumping, that was found in... More >>
1 year ago Wednesday, May 15 2019 May 15, 2019 Wednesday, May 15, 2019 12:09:00 PM CDT May 15, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Last month, 2 On Your Side reported that three Live Oak trees were vandalized along Airline Highway... More >>
1 year ago Tuesday, May 14 2019 May 14, 2019 Tuesday, May 14, 2019 6:43:00 PM CDT May 14, 2019 in News
UPDATE: The mayor's office announced Thursday that she has requested AT&T suspend construction of its new cell towers around the... More >>
1 year ago Sunday, May 12 2019 May 12, 2019 Sunday, May 12, 2019 11:00:00 PM CDT May 12, 2019 in News
BATON ROUGE - Weather conditions in the last couple of days have some homeowners worried. Sharon Bell contacted 2... More >>
1 year ago Friday, May 10 2019 May 10, 2019 Friday, May 10, 2019 5:36:00 PM CDT May 10, 2019 in News

News tip form