70°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

2 On Your Side with Brittany Weiss is here for you.

Watch 2 On Your Side reports on all WBRZ News 2 newscasts: morning, noon, afternoon and evening.  Brittany Weiss is the 2 On Your Side anchor/reporter.  Check this page daily for helpful information and On Your Side reports.

Send tips to OnYourSide@wbrz.com

LWC issues apology after sending letters to unemployed, warning they were overpaid & owe thousands

BATON ROUGE - Major sticker shock for people on unemployment since some of them received mail that says they owe back thousands of dollars. The letters say people were overpaid, and they have 15 days to file an appeal or pay the money back.

After WBRZ aired a 2 On Your Side story about the issue, the Louisiana Workforce Commission issued an apology for its error, but the organization took its time in responding to the matter. And in the meantime, the many unemployed Louisianians who received the 'overpayment' notices were shocked and confused. 

Katherine Stephens was working at the legislature when she was laid off due to the pandemic and became eligible for unemployment benefits in April.

"That was such a relief," Stephens said. "I was able to keep up with my student loans and pay the bills I have without any stress."

Stephens continued to apply for work and even tucked a few dollars away in her savings account. Then last week, her unemployment benefits stopped. On laworks.net, Stephens saw that there had been an overpayment on her claim. She started calling the Louisiana Workforce Commission but didn't hear back.

On Monday, she received two letters in the mail that went more into detail about that overpayment. The letters said she owed back $4,278 for unemployment insurance and $9,600 in Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation. Stephens is now worried she'll have to pay back $13,878 in benefits, most of which she no longer has.

"They're essentially asking me for $14,000 and I have 15 days to either pay it or appeal," she said.

Turns out, she's not alone. Two On Your Side has heard from multiple people who received letters this week from the Louisiana Workforce Commission. Many of them are being told they owe thousands of dollars back to the state. Like Stephens, they have questions that haven't been answered.

"I can't get anyone on the phone to find out if this is a glitch in the computer software, I have no idea," Stephens said. "The hardest part is just not having anyone respond, so I can't get any information from anyone about what the problem is."

On Tuesday, 2 On Your Side asked the Louisiana Workforce Commission about these letters via email. More information was promised that day, but 2 On Your Side did not hear back. After more people contacted 2 On Your Side about the letters, once again questions were asked about what the letters meant, if they went out in error and how many were mailed. A response was not given.

On Thursday, the Louisiana Workforce Commission issued an apology for its error, saying, ""(LWC) is aware of approximately 7,600 Unemployment Insurance overpayment notices that were generated on September 9 - 10, 2020. LWC is working with the vendor to correct this technical issue."

The organization also said the vast majority of individuals who received overpayment notices will not owe anything related to the issue.

Grid
List
BATON ROUGE - Major sticker shock for people on unemployment since some of them received mail that says they owe... More >>
5 days ago Wednesday, September 16 2020 Sep 16, 2020 Wednesday, September 16, 2020 6:45:00 PM CDT September 16, 2020 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A fence company in Livingston Parish is taking months to complete jobs and customers are tired of... More >>
6 days ago Tuesday, September 15 2020 Sep 15, 2020 Tuesday, September 15, 2020 6:06:00 PM CDT September 15, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - On the morning of June 24, an EF-1 tornado hit parts of Baton Rouge along Essen Lane,... More >>
1 week ago Friday, September 11 2020 Sep 11, 2020 Friday, September 11, 2020 6:40:00 PM CDT September 11, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some Louisiana businesses, including bars, have had a rough time during the pandemic. Now with the news... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, September 10 2020 Sep 10, 2020 Thursday, September 10, 2020 6:40:00 PM CDT September 10, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Some providers are already offering the flu vaccine and shipments will increase in September. With the ongoing... More >>
2 weeks ago Friday, September 04 2020 Sep 4, 2020 Friday, September 04, 2020 6:06:00 PM CDT September 04, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - As more students head back to in-person learning, they're masking up. Dr. Michael Bolton, a pediatric infectious... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, September 03 2020 Sep 3, 2020 Thursday, September 03, 2020 7:10:00 PM CDT September 03, 2020 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - A dispute over a leash rule drove a wedge between some neighbors and led to the sheriff's... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, September 02 2020 Sep 2, 2020 Wednesday, September 02, 2020 6:35:00 PM CDT September 02, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - As residents living in East Baton Rouge Parish continue to receive their property tax reassessments in the... More >>
3 weeks ago Monday, August 31 2020 Aug 31, 2020 Monday, August 31, 2020 5:50:00 PM CDT August 31, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - A woman went through a year-long venture with a fencing company. It took a call to 2... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, August 28 2020 Aug 28, 2020 Friday, August 28, 2020 7:20:00 PM CDT August 28, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - A generator was stolen from the carport of a Park Forest home late Tuesday night. The homeowners... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, August 27 2020 Aug 27, 2020 Thursday, August 27, 2020 10:40:00 PM CDT August 27, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - This week, East Baton Rouge Parish residents will receive a property tax reassessment in the mail. The... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, August 26 2020 Aug 26, 2020 Wednesday, August 26, 2020 8:00:00 PM CDT August 26, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Parishes are making sure drainage areas are working properly before this week's weather. In addition to stock... More >>
4 weeks ago Monday, August 24 2020 Aug 24, 2020 Monday, August 24, 2020 6:05:00 PM CDT August 24, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - A Louisiana medical facility says it's no longer allowing certain types of masks in its facilities after... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, August 20 2020 Aug 20, 2020 Thursday, August 20, 2020 8:00:00 PM CDT August 20, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - There are unanswered questions about what's next following President Donald Trump's executive orders on stimulus payments, unemployment,... More >>
1 month ago Monday, August 10 2020 Aug 10, 2020 Monday, August 10, 2020 6:50:00 PM CDT August 10, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - A large metal dumpster full of garbage has become a neighborhood's latest mystery. It appears the... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, August 06 2020 Aug 6, 2020 Thursday, August 06, 2020 8:41:00 PM CDT August 06, 2020 in News
UPDATE: Baton Rouge Police visited the neighborhood Wednesday night and measured the decibel levels to find that the business is... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, August 05 2020 Aug 5, 2020 Wednesday, August 05, 2020 6:25:00 PM CDT August 05, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Among the things that have been put on hold since the start of the pandemic is blight... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, August 04 2020 Aug 4, 2020 Tuesday, August 04, 2020 7:19:00 PM CDT August 04, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Next month will mark four years since about 140,000 homes flooded in south Louisiana. It's hard to... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, July 29 2020 Jul 29, 2020 Wednesday, July 29, 2020 7:20:00 PM CDT July 29, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - An 83-year-old says she's had quite the experience with a home warranty company and it's cost her... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, July 23 2020 Jul 23, 2020 Thursday, July 23, 2020 8:19:00 PM CDT July 23, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Ambulance services are trying to recruit more paramedics and EMTs amid a nationwide shortage. The staffing shortage... More >>
2 months ago Monday, July 20 2020 Jul 20, 2020 Monday, July 20, 2020 8:51:00 PM CDT July 20, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Residents are calling 2 On Your Side about mail delivery issues in their neighborhood. The calls are... More >>
2 months ago Wednesday, July 08 2020 Jul 8, 2020 Wednesday, July 08, 2020 7:15:00 PM CDT July 08, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention are expected to release new guidance when it comes to... More >>
2 months ago Monday, June 22 2020 Jun 22, 2020 Monday, June 22, 2020 7:25:00 PM CDT June 22, 2020 in News
GONZALES - Drivers in Ascension Parish are hoping for some relief in the form of a traffic circle. The only... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, June 18 2020 Jun 18, 2020 Thursday, June 18, 2020 7:00:00 PM CDT June 18, 2020 in News
DENHAM SPRINGS - Last year , the Livingston Parish Department of Public Works said it would be tearing down fences... More >>
3 months ago Monday, June 15 2020 Jun 15, 2020 Monday, June 15, 2020 6:20:00 PM CDT June 15, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - First-year college students are being asked to get their TOPS paperwork in order, now. The Louisiana... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, June 11 2020 Jun 11, 2020 Thursday, June 11, 2020 7:26:00 PM CDT June 11, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - A resolution passed in the House and Governmental Affairs Committee Wednesday that sets up a review of... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, June 10 2020 Jun 10, 2020 Wednesday, June 10, 2020 7:21:00 PM CDT June 10, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - A beauty school has suddenly closed its doors, blaming the coronavirus, and students are left wondering what's... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, June 09 2020 Jun 9, 2020 Tuesday, June 09, 2020 6:45:00 PM CDT June 09, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - The U.S. jobless rate dropped to 13.3 percent in May, down from a record high in April.... More >>
3 months ago Friday, June 05 2020 Jun 5, 2020 Friday, June 05, 2020 6:38:00 PM CDT June 05, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - A family that's been fighting for access to a potentially life-saving drug received word that their access... More >>
3 months ago Monday, June 01 2020 Jun 1, 2020 Monday, June 01, 2020 7:15:00 PM CDT June 01, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Don't be too quick to throw away that junk mail, it could be your stimulus money. ... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 28 2020 May 28, 2020 Thursday, May 28, 2020 5:35:00 PM CDT May 28, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - As some people are still waiting for their stimulus checks to make it to them, one woman... More >>
4 months ago Friday, May 22 2020 May 22, 2020 Friday, May 22, 2020 6:14:00 PM CDT May 22, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - New data suggests that people are so afraid of getting the coronavirus they're not seeking the care... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, May 21 2020 May 21, 2020 Thursday, May 21, 2020 6:54:00 PM CDT May 21, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Illegal dumping is nothing new to East Baton Rouge Parish, but there's one spot on Florida Blvd.... More >>
4 months ago Wednesday, May 20 2020 May 20, 2020 Wednesday, May 20, 2020 5:39:00 PM CDT May 20, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - A man found a bogus charge on his bank statement and soon realized he wasn't alone. ... More >>
4 months ago Tuesday, May 19 2020 May 19, 2020 Tuesday, May 19, 2020 6:44:00 PM CDT May 19, 2020 in News
GONZALES - A homeowner in Ascension Parish was busy cleaning his house Friday after it took on water yet again.... More >>
4 months ago Friday, May 15 2020 May 15, 2020 Friday, May 15, 2020 6:19:00 PM CDT May 15, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Unemployment and the tidal wave of people filing for benefits was a discussion at the Capitol Thursday.... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, May 14 2020 May 14, 2020 Thursday, May 14, 2020 5:28:00 PM CDT May 14, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Salon owners and employees are cleaning and organizing ahead of Friday as many businesses are planning their... More >>
4 months ago Tuesday, May 12 2020 May 12, 2020 Tuesday, May 12, 2020 5:52:00 PM CDT May 12, 2020 in News
RALEIGH, NC - A simple blood test can determine if you've been exposed to the coronavirus and if you've developed... More >>
4 months ago Monday, May 11 2020 May 11, 2020 Monday, May 11, 2020 7:08:00 PM CDT May 11, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - More businesses are starting to reopen amid the coronavirus outbreak, and non-emergency medical procedures are back on... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, April 30 2020 Apr 30, 2020 Thursday, April 30, 2020 6:34:00 PM CDT April 30, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - More people are encouraged to wear masks in public. And when a few rules are relaxed allowing... More >>
4 months ago Tuesday, April 28 2020 Apr 28, 2020 Tuesday, April 28, 2020 5:26:00 PM CDT April 28, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Businesses won't be reopening until the governor feels Louisiana meets the criteria to move onto phase 1,... More >>
4 months ago Monday, April 27 2020 Apr 27, 2020 Monday, April 27, 2020 6:25:00 PM CDT April 27, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - The Louisiana Workforce Commission has paid out $604 million since coronavirus claims started on March 21, but... More >>
4 months ago Friday, April 24 2020 Apr 24, 2020 Friday, April 24, 2020 7:00:00 PM CDT April 24, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Thousands of Louisiana citizens have filed for unemployment due to the coronavirus. To address the statewide public... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, April 23 2020 Apr 23, 2020 Thursday, April 23, 2020 5:56:00 PM CDT April 23, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Millions of stimulus checks were deposited in bank accounts across the country this week, but some people... More >>
5 months ago Thursday, April 16 2020 Apr 16, 2020 Thursday, April 16, 2020 5:38:00 PM CDT April 16, 2020 in News
BAKER - The Greater Baton Rouge Food Bank has been busy during the coronavirus pandemic. Tuesday morning, a line... More >>
5 months ago Tuesday, April 14 2020 Apr 14, 2020 Tuesday, April 14, 2020 6:00:00 PM CDT April 14, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - The way people visit with their doctor seems to have changed overnight. The quick transition into telemedicine... More >>
5 months ago Friday, April 10 2020 Apr 10, 2020 Friday, April 10, 2020 6:54:00 PM CDT April 10, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - When Lance Albarado was laid off from his job about a three weeks ago due to the... More >>
5 months ago Thursday, April 09 2020 Apr 9, 2020 Thursday, April 09, 2020 6:31:00 PM CDT April 09, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - Believe it or not, there is still work to do at the River Center Branch Library downtown... More >>
5 months ago Wednesday, April 08 2020 Apr 8, 2020 Wednesday, April 08, 2020 5:49:00 PM CDT April 08, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE/PRAIRIEVILLE - While everyone is safe at home during the coronavirus crisis, many are looking for things to do.... More >>
5 months ago Wednesday, April 01 2020 Apr 1, 2020 Wednesday, April 01, 2020 5:25:00 PM CDT April 01, 2020 in News
BATON ROUGE - More people are now eligible to apply for unemployment. The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES... More >>
5 months ago Tuesday, March 31 2020 Mar 31, 2020 Tuesday, March 31, 2020 7:48:00 PM CDT March 31, 2020 in News

News tip form