47°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton:'The Christmas Tree Ship and Thanks from Pat!"
It experiences six months of darkness and is the coldest, windiest and driest continent. Gravity accelerates the cold as dense air increases over the 9,000 foot plateau, kicking up katabatic... More >>
3 days ago Tuesday, December 10 2019 Dec 10, 2019 Tuesday, December 10, 2019 11:02:05 PM CST December 10, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
The Rouse Simmons sank during a winter gale on November 23, 1912. For 30 years the schooner brought Christmas trees from Northern Michigan and Wisconsin to Chicago. “The Little Blue... More >>
4 days ago Monday, December 09 2019 Dec 9, 2019 Monday, December 09, 2019 11:08:38 PM CST December 09, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
During these weather changes we’re constantly adjusting our wardrobes. Not the case with our grandfather who resided with us. Bert Price wore the same clothing day-in and day-out. His “wardrobe”... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, December 04 2019 Dec 4, 2019 Wednesday, December 04, 2019 10:31:12 PM CST December 04, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
Venice, Italy continues to deal with excessive flooding. Other interesting, monthly events include November 18, 1421 when wind driven waves... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, November 19 2019 Nov 19, 2019 Tuesday, November 19, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST November 19, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Elmo is derived from Erasmus and St. Elmo was a fourth-century martyr and the patron saint of sailors. St. Elmo’s... More >>
4 weeks ago Friday, November 15 2019 Nov 15, 2019 Friday, November 15, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST November 15, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
A "stocking rate" reflects how many animals a designated area of acreage will support. The unpredictability of precipitation causes difficulty... More >>
4 weeks ago Thursday, November 14 2019 Nov 14, 2019 Thursday, November 14, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST November 14, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
No "Icy" weather is expecting this morning but a record low should be posted into the weather almanac. Late Tuesday... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, November 13 2019 Nov 13, 2019 Wednesday, November 13, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST November 13, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column
Luke Guarisco, called last Thursday to check the forecast, mentioning that he just got his shotgun “sighted” for duck season.... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, November 12 2019 Nov 12, 2019 Tuesday, November 12, 2019 9:00:00 AM CST November 12, 2019 in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days