79°
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
7 Day Forecast
Follow our weather team on social media

Pat's Column

Pat Shingleton: "Barn Raising and Two Death Valleys"
In 1942 Nazi scientists built a weather station on the remote Arctic Island of Alexandra Land. The tactical base was known as "Treasure Island" and was long thought to be... More >>
20 hours ago April 26, 2017 Apr 26, 2017 Wednesday, April 26 2017 Wednesday, April 26, 2017 10:45:46 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
In the 18th and 19th centuries a barn was the first, largest and most costly structure needed for the family and a “barn raising” was an event that brought neighbors... More >>
1 day ago April 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017 Tuesday, April 25 2017 Tuesday, April 25, 2017 10:38:18 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
Monday, April 24th was the anniversary of the “1908 Tornado.” The Tornado Project reported that this was a major tornadic event when a twister touched down in the community of... More >>
2 days ago April 24, 2017 Apr 24, 2017 Monday, April 24 2017 Monday, April 24, 2017 11:00:36 PM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column

Grid
List
I've referenced Western Pennsylvania in numerous columns but Baton Rouge is home and here's one of the explanations. A talent... More >>
2 weeks ago April 11, 2017 Apr 11, 2017 Tuesday, April 11 2017 Tuesday, April 11, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
An archived Weatherwise magazine report noted that “wind set down” occurs when strong winds blow over water for an extended... More >>
2 weeks ago April 07, 2017 Apr 7, 2017 Friday, April 07 2017 Friday, April 07, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
I have mentioned in previous columns aromas and odors due to weather conditions. Following a frontal passage, the northwest wind... More >>
3 weeks ago April 06, 2017 Apr 6, 2017 Thursday, April 06 2017 Thursday, April 06, 2017 4:10:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
Salt farming depends on the weather and for French artisan farmers; it’s a labor of love. The wind and the... More >>
3 weeks ago April 05, 2017 Apr 5, 2017 Wednesday, April 05 2017 Wednesday, April 05, 2017 4:00:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column
Turkey vultures are beneficial to Louisiana as they not only clean the roadways of decomposing animals, also known as “road-kill,”... More >>
3 weeks ago April 04, 2017 Apr 4, 2017 Tuesday, April 04 2017 Tuesday, April 04, 2017 4:15:00 AM CDT in Pat Shingleton Column

Desktop News

Click to open Continuous News in a sidebar that updates in real-time.
Radar
7 Days